Governance » School Board

School Board

About the NYOS School Board:
Photo of School BoardThe NYOS School Board consists of four teachers elected by the teaching faculty, four parents elected by the parent body of the school and two community/business members elected by the school membership. (See By-laws, Article IV, Section 4.01-4.09 and Article VII, Section 7.01-7.10 for election guidelines.) A student representative elected by students in grades 8-12 will be a non-voting member of the council.
The role of the NYOS School Board is to represent the students, parents, staff, and community by bringing their expertise, experience, and collective wisdom to the table solely for the best interest of all children enrolled at NYOS. They shall have the following responsibilities (See By-laws, Article IV, Section 4.08):
  • Make personnel decisions regarding the Executive Director, including hiring and removal
  • Develop goals and objectives for the school
  • Establish school policies
  • Review and approve the budget
  • Negotiate with and be accountable to the Texas Education Agency
  • Provide an attentive ear to the school community

The schedule of dates is published below and on the school calendar. The agenda of each NYOS School Board meeting is posted at both schools three days prior to the meeting. Meetings are open to all members of the school community.

2019-2020 School Board Members:

Dr. David Molina
Vice Chair
Alyssa Moore
Natalie Elliott
Kari Honea
Parent Members
Priscilla Cavazos
Matt Embry
Kari Honea
Vibha Monteiro
Teacher Members
Shawn Bliss
Natalie Elliott
Donida Garcia
Chris Juraska
Community Members
George Gentile
Dr. David Molina
Alyssa Moore
Dr. April Willis
Student Member
Frankie Shanks



2019-2020 Meeting Dates:


July 18, 2019
August 15, 2019
September 12, 2019
October 17, 2019
November 7, 2019
December 5, 2019
January 9, 2020
February 13, 2020
March 12, 2020
April 16, 2020
May 14, 2020
June 11, 2020
June 29, 2020