NYOS Charter School

Governance » School Board

School Board

The NYOS School Board consists of four teachers elected by the teaching faculty, four parents elected by the parent body of the school and two community/business members elected by the school membership. (See By-laws, Article IV, Section 4.01-4.09 and Article VII, Section 7.01-7.10 for election guidelines.) A student representative elected by students in grades 8-12 will be a non-voting member of the council.

The role of the NYOS School Board is to represent the students, parents, staff, and community by bringing their expertise, experience, and collective wisdom to the table solely for the best interest of all children enrolled at NYOS. They shall have the following responsibilities (See By-laws, Article IV, Section 4.08):

  • Make personnel decisions regarding the Executive Director, including hiring and removal
  • Develop goals and objectives for the school
  • Establish school policies
  • Review and approve the budget
  • Negotiate with and be accountable to the Texas Education Agency
  • Provide an attentive ear to the school community

The schedule of dates is published below and on the school calendar. The agenda of each NYOS School Board meeting is posted at both schools three days prior to the meeting. Meetings are open to all members of the school community.


2017-2018 School Board Members


Dr. April Willis



Ean Fulks


Parent Members

Laura Collier

Amy Adams

Priscilla Cavazos


Community Members

Dr. April Willis

Dr. David Molina

John Tintera

Alyssa Moore


Teacher Members

Clare Benish

Ean Fulks

Samantha Gladwell

Natalie Elliott


Student Member

Miki Nguyen


Meeting Dates:

July 13, 2017
August 10, 2017
September 14, 2017
October 19, 2017
November 9, 2017
December 14, 2017
January 11, 2018
February 8, 2018
March 8, 2018
April 12, 2018
May 10, 2018
June 14, 2018
June 28, 2018