NYOS Charter School School Board Minutes May 7, 2015

The NYOS School Board met in the Kramer library on May 7, 2015 with a 6:05 p.m. Call to Order by John Tintera, School Board Chair. In attendance was Parliamentarian Christy Moffett, along with Board members Lisa Lamkin, Christee Jackson, Clare Benish, Scott Gibby, Dr. April Michaud and Ean Fulks. Staff Present included Kathleen Zimmermann, Curtis Wilson, Terry Berkenhoff, Julie Atchley, Alyssa Moore, and Madison Pickens.

The Board discussed the items on the agenda. Lisa Lamkin moved to strike items 4A3 and Executive Session item 1. The motion passed.

The Board reviewed and discussed the April 2, 2015 minutes. Lisa Lamkin moved to accept the minutes as amended. The motion passed.

During public comment, parent Daniel Funderburg spoke to the Board about his concerns on teacher retention and looping.

The Board discussed and voted on changes to policy Module 200.200-200.220 Governance and Organization. Christy Moffett moved to accept the policy as presented. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on changes to the Student Code of Conduct. Lisa Lamkin moved to accept the Code of Conduct as presented. The motion passed.

The board discussed and voted on the Evaluation of Performance in Community and Student Engagement. Christee Jackson moved to accept the Evaluation of Performance in Community and Student Engagement as amended. The motion passed.

Kathleen Zimmermann updated the Board on the charter expansion and non-expansion amendments. She will have more updates at the next meeting.

Kathleen Zimmermann updated the Board on the current Texas state legislation.

John Tintera took the floor on the behalf of the Financial Oversight Committee. The current NYOS enrollment is at 924 students.

Kathleen Zimmermann discussed bond refinancing matters with the Board.

Kathleen Zimmermann discussed and presented the Board with drafts of the 2015-2016 operating Budget.

No report from student representative.

Kathleen Zimmermann updated the Board with the elections results for new Board members and Bylaw changes. The new members will be seated at the next meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 7:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Bronwyn Sanderson